Woodland Baby Shower

If you know me at all, you know I am a proud aunt to two beautiful blonde haired boys so I was over-the-moon excited for the arrival of my THIRD nephew, Brooks Scott, due in March. Being that my sister already has two boys, she insisted she only needed something small in lieu of a shower. We called it a “sprinkle,” but my mom and I just couldn’t help ourselves. We opted for a woodland-themed shower to celebrate our little deer’s arrival:

THE CAKE

The cake was one of my absolute favorite parts of planning this shower. I saw the cutest cake on Pinterest (because of course I did) and had to recreate it. We made two small circle cakes using one box of french vanilla cake mix (plus a few special ingredients like mexican vanilla). We placed the first one upside down to give us a flat surface to work with and spread a layer of frosting before adding a raspberry filling over the top, making sure to avoid about an inch of the edges so it wouldn’t overflow. Then we placed the second layer on top. After that, we lathered it up in our homemade icing (whipped icing mix, cream cheese + whipped cream) and let it cool in the fridge over night. The day of, we placed our cute mama and baby deer (from Hobby Lobby) on top for a finishing touch.

THE PRINTABLES

Once again, Pinterest comes in handy here. I did a search for baby shower printables and stumbled upon these cuties. Hannah of We Lived Happily Ever After offers a variety of printables featuring these little critters and they’re exactly what made me choose this theme. My dad just so happened to have the perfect branch to recreate the banner she featured on her blog and I was so happy with the end-result. Even if you’re not that crafty, you can easily tackle this project with some scissors and tape. I’ve never been a big mason-jar fanatic, but they were perfectly fitting for the theme and looked great with the animals and paper straws I picked up at Target.

THE SPECIAL TOUCHES

IMG_1126I’ve said it a few times already, but seriously, never underestimate the power of Pinterest. To make these adorable and delicious “acorns” we used Hershey’s Kisses, Nutter Butters, Reese’s Peanut Butter chips, and peanut butter for paste. That’s it. The easiest, most adorable recipe ever. For other woodland-themed foods, we used pretzel sticks for twigs and teddy grahams for little bears.

As our favors, we bagged up salted caramel and white cheddar popcorn with a sign reading, “She’s about to pop!”and added hand-signed thank you tags made by my friend and helper Shelly.

My one bright idea that didn’t come from Pinterest was the wooden plank I painted Brooks’ name on. My dad had a scrap fence post he thought I could use for the shower. I was so excited to create something with it. Maybe too excited. I was getting pretty confident about all these successful DIY projects I was doing and in my haste, I wrote “Brooks Scoott.” I tried washing it off, but ended up washing off the nice rustic color with it. I tried using the other side, but it was a little too rustic. I tried painting over it. Not quite the look I was going for. Just when I was ready to give up, my mom found an old plank in her backyard and after some dusting off and sawing, I had an even better plank than I started with. It even had a hole in the middle like it was meant to be used as a sign and this time, I made sure to spell his name right. I learned a little lesson in humility and patience that day to say the least.

  THE SISTER

I’m so happy I had the privilege of celebrating my sister and her third baby boy. I can’t wait to meet Brooks and shower him in love and affection! With babies and family, the more, the merrier.

Thank you to everyone who came out to celebrate this radiant woman!

Leave a Reply

