FMA Newsletter

As I’ve said before, I love how content is presented. I think a font can make the world of a difference and a simple change of color can transform its theme. I’m currently taking a class on media design and for the first major project, we were to design a newsletter about an organization on campus. I chose Fashion Merchandising Association because I’m minoring in the field and I knew it would give me the chance to make something pretty. FMA’s colors are a muted cyan and white, but I decided to reimagine the organization’s branding in my own colors and style. For this newsletter, I chose to rock Magenta with sleek fonts.

Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 10.59.51 AMScreen Shot 2015-03-02 at 10.59.10 AM

The first step in this project was to create the content. I quickly jotted down a few stories I could write- a pop-up shop by JC Penney and FMA, a Q&A with an FMA member who has an awesome job, a runway show in partnership with the Central Texas Medical Center, and most importantly the annual career forum. But as the deadline came closer and closer, I had to bail on the CTMC story. I had just barely gotten my interviews for the rest of my stories. So without that fourth article, I was left with a huge blank page.

Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 10.59.21 AM Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 10.59.34 AM

Hours before the deadline, I knew I had to make something out of nothing. Since the Career Forum was my biggest story, I pulled from that. As you can see above, I chose to do an “Editor’s Pick” section about finding a breakout session. It took up plenty of space, made for a clean design, and turned out being a helpful piece. To fill in the rest of the white space, I grabbed pictures from the FMA Instagram which will drive readers to the organization’s social media. On the third page, I used leftover quotes from my article for testimonial quotes that completed my spread.

This was such a fun project to work on. I find that I work best when under pressure so the limited time pushed me to create. I was pleasantly surprised in my own ability to fill all that white space hours before the due date. I hope you like my final product!

Leave a Reply

