Creating Flats

Missy+TemplategoinsMissy+Templategoinsback

Aside from writing, another childhood hobby of mine was to design clothes. I’ve always been interested in fashion, but I didn’t anticipate studying it until I realized Texas State offered Fashion Merchandising as a minor. Since I want to go in Fashion PR, I thought it was a good fit.

This semester I’m taking Textile Production and we are learning how to use different programs like Illustrator and Photoshop. Our most recent assignment was to create a flat of a design of our choice. A flat is a black and white one-dimensional sketch that shows all the seams, hardware, topstitching, etc. of a garment. I chose to design a dress and took inspiration from Alexa Chung who frequently sports a peter-pan collar.

Since this project doesn’t require a specific color or fabric to be drawn in, the full design is left up to the imagination. Personally, I imagine this dress with a thick fabric like a Cavalry Twill in a rich burgundy color with a white collar, pockets and waist line. How do you see this dress? With a floral pattern? Pastel colors? Velvet fabric? Let me hear your take in the comments!

Leave a Reply

